Local Races

This map shows the two cities, one village, and sixteen townships included in the seven Midland County Commissioner Districts. 

The Michigan Constitution and state law provide the authority and dictate the responsibilities of Michigan’s counties, cities, villages and townships.

A township is the smallest – yet most prominent – part of Michigan's system of local government. 

Outside of cities like Midland, the 1,102 townships and 138 charter township governments govern 96% of the land area in Michigan.

Each township is governed by a board of trustees consisting of the township supervisor, township clerk, township treasurer, and two or four elected trustees.

Township Races

George Whittington defended his position as Lee Township Supervisor in Midland County's 3rd District against his Democratic opponent LeRoy Martin in the August primary.  

Democratic candidate Russ Varner will be defending his incumbant postion as supervisor in Homer Township against Republican Chad Moody in Midland County's 3rd District.

Democrat Shelley Laramie is competing Republican Laura Grubaugh to be treasurer in Jerome Township in Midland County's 1st District.  Joseph P. Grabowski is running unopposed for the same position in Geneva Township in the 1st District.

The following list includes Democratic candidates or incumbents who are running unopposed for their respective township offices:

Geneva Township

  • Treasurer — Joseph P. Grabowski

Hope Township

  • Supervisor — Andy Kobisa

  • Clerk — JoAnn Wilkie

Ingersoll Township

  • Clerk — Mary Ellen Keel

Jerome Township

  • Supervisor — Mike Wood

Lee Township

  • Treasurer — William H. Stewart

Mills Township

  • Supervisor — Daniel R. Bloom

  • Clerk — Maxine M. Brink


Midland County Commissioner

In Midland County's District 1 which includes the City of Coleman and the Village of Sanford, Democratic candidate Connie Methner will be competing against Republican Jeanette Snyder in the November general election.  Snyder defeated Republican incumbent Al Kloha in the August primary. 

Democrat Eric Anders is running against Republican candidate Gaye Terwillegar in November to replace Republican Rich Keenan as Midland County Commissioner in District 4 which includes a portion of the City of Midland. 


Midland County 2016 Primary Election Unofficial Results – August 2, 2016